I found this one in my organized pile (haha!) of salad recipes ripped from magazines. I can’t tell which one since it is all but a scrap, but it is a good one and I make it often for parties. This is the original recipe, with my changes and comments added. My version is tastier 😉

1 pound Radiatore, Rotini, or other medium pasta shape, uncooked (I use Fusilli, it looks great in this)
6 tablespoons vegetable oil ( I use extra virgin olive oil)
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1 pound skinless, boneless fresh salmon fillets or frozen salmon fillets, cooked and chopped
OR
2 7 1/2-ounce cans salmon, drained and flaked
(I use boneless skinless seared in light sesame oil)
1 papaya (if unavailable, substitute 1 mango or 2 peaches, or 2 nectarines), peeled, seeded and chopped
OR
1 15-ounce can papaya, or favorite fruit in light syrup, drained and chopped
( I use fresh papaya)
1 cup cherry tomatoes
1 bunch scallions, finely sliced
1 yellow bell pepper, seeded, ribs removed and chopped
1 medium cucumber, quartered lengthwise and sliced
1 small jalapeño, seeded, ribs removed and finely minced
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
OR
2 teaspoons dried cilantro
(I’ve only use fresh cilantro because I have a surplus of it growing here in the summer)
3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
3 drops hot sauce

1. Prepare pasta according to package directions; drain and transfer to a medium bowl.

2. While pasta is still warm, mix in vegetable oil. Season with freshly ground black pepper. Set pasta aside to cool.

3. In a medium mixing bowl, add the salmon, papaya, tomatoes, scallions, yellow pepper and cucumber. Toss together with pasta.

4. In a small bowl, combine the jalapeño, cilantro, both vinegars and hot sauce. Toss the pasta with the dressing and refrigerate. Serve well chilled.

Serves 6-8

Note to self…start organizing the pile of magazine recipes

I received this in my email this morning from The Horses and Humans Research Foundation. It is the results of a study on the impact of equine therapy on children with cerebral palsy. Here is the link…

http://www.horsesandhumans.org/WUfinal_press_release.pdf

Good news for families, and good news for equine therapy!

We are having these for dinner tonight. They looked sooooo good and we love Tempeh, so look for a review tomorrow.

Almond Crusted Tempeh Burger

Not sure what I’ll throw together to go with them, but the Fresh Corn & Summer vegetables with Arame Seaweed looks pretty good. I’m really crunched for time so we’ll see what we end up with!

Have a great Thursday and do something delicious!

Colleen
Creatively serving the Greater Binghamton area in the lovely Southern Tier of NY. www.foodwineartdesign.com

Colleen is a private caterer and personal chef, she also hosts the internet’s favorite resource for the home wine maker at www.homemadewine.net. Her blog and websites are viewed by thousands each day who enjoy her simply explained, illustrated and photographed recipes and helpful tips.

