I love this one, I have had this floating around for a thousand years and I think it has been fiddled with a thousand times. This is a great one to make if you are looking for something a little bit different. Try subbing Soba noodles too…the deep buckwheat flavor is AMAZING in this and it is good for you too!

For the Dressing:
2 T dark soy sauce
2 T rice wine vinegar
1 t salt ( you can adjust this if you are concerned about sodium)
1 T light brown sugar
1 T peanut oil
1 T sesame oil
1 t orange zest
1/2 t red chile flakes

8 oz chinese egg noodles (fresh is best, or dried…look for lo mein or chow mein noodles if you can’t find them by egg noodle…many makers still name chinese ingredients by the dishes they are used in…I’ll never get that…)
1 c broccoli sprouts
8 c carrot, finely shredded
1/4 c daikon radish, finely shredded
1/3 c green onion, sliced
1 T black sesame seeds
fresh cilantro leaves, as needed
1. Combine the dressing ingredients and whisk thoroughly.

2. Cook the egg noodles in rapidly boiling salted water until tender, approximately 2 minutes. Drain and refresh; drain again.

3. Toss the noodles with the sprouts, carrots, daikon, green onion and sesame seeds. Add the dressing and toss gently until the noodles and vegetables are thoroughly coated.

4. Chill well, garnish with cilantro. ***If Cilantro isn’t your thing garnish with some strips of carrot or scallion.

I finished this yesterday, it is one of the 2008 cards for the farm…can you tell I loves me a duckie?

We may do a calender…I haven’t decided yet. I really prefer cards but then again, I get to see all these creatures every day. I’m spoiled. 🙂

I’m catching up with some clients today and then it is off to the barn to be with the kids and horses for the rest of the day. I’ll let you in on a secret….

If you need a heartwarming, soul satisfying moment in your life visit a Hippotherapy or Therapeutic Horseback riding center in your area. If you don’t know where to look, visit Animalsforautism.org or drop me an email here and I will search our database to help you find one. Seeing the kids week after week and watching them work so hard and accomplish so much…wow. I don’t think I ever leave there without at least one tearfully proud moment. On a personal level, now that we have found the amazing organization we have been volunteering with, the progress my daughter has experienced is nothing short of extraordinary. Perhaps the best part is that she wants therapeutic riding to be a part of her adult life too, even possibly having a center of her own when she is done with college. It’s good to me 🙂

Have a wonderful Wednesday and do something delicious!

Colleen
Creatively serving the Greater Binghamton area in the lovely Southern Tier of NY. www.foodwineartdesign.com

Colleen is a private caterer and personal chef, she also hosts the internet’s favorite resource for the home wine maker at www.homemadewine.net. Her blog and websites are viewed by thousands each day who enjoy her simply explained, illustrated and photographed recipes and helpful tips.

