This is my "feel better" food. It’s perfect for those days when something light and comforting is in order. I was suffering from a rare moment that I had nothing Kid-Friendly ready to make in the house so I threw this together…kids love it! Even my little friend Nicolas who professed yesterday that he was "going to tell his Dad on me" because I told I wouldn’t make him a hot dog and that he had to eat a vegetable. 🙂

It’s fast, easy and healthier than a boxed prepared meal.

Tortolonni

Tortellini in Brodo e Pisi (Tortellini with broth and peas)

8 cups good Chicken or Vegetable stock simmering
1 8 ounce package of dried cheese tortellini (I like Flora or Gia Russa…Barilla is good too)
1 1 lb bag of frozen peas

Here comes the hard part…put the tortellini in the simmering broth. When it is tender add the frozen peas. This will lower the temperature of the broth to serving temp and slow the cooking of the tortellini. Now just ladle some pasta, peas and broth into your bowls and serve.

What else can you do with it?

Dress it up and switch out the peas for asparagus
Add Escarole, Spinach or baby Kale instead of the Peas
Spice it up by using a little red pepper or chili
drain the broth off, cool and drizzle with good extra virgin olive oil and slivers of Parmigiano Reggiano for a a side dish.
Add cooked chopped chicken and some added vegetables and have grown up chicken noodle soup.

Here are some pics of the kids at the pool yesterday…I love summer 🙂 I’ll be back in the studio tomorrow…enjoy your Monday!

Akandn Ally Kayla Nick

